Being Thankful on Easter Monday

Right now I am grateful for a few things:

1. Warm weather and a back porch my boys can play on without needing me.

2. Leftover Easter dinner (for the boys) so I don’t have to mess up the kitchen.

3. Leftover stuffed mushrooms (for me) that Phil made.

4. Phil being at dinner, Megan being at work, and Seth being at a ball game all overlapping for an hour so I can sit and type without even thinking anyone was wishing I were doing anything else.

I am also thankful for an amazing (and successful) Easter dinner yesterday with all of my Georgia family. It was the first holiday meal I have ever hosted and I’m pleased to report the food was delicious, people were laughing, and the kids played well together. There is not much more you could ask for.

As an added bonus, the pressure of knowing people would be over got me working hard on my dining room again! I finished the chairs (I’ll put a post up on that soon!) and even made some last minute decorations (post coming soon as well). I really like the way it turned out and even though it’s a little girly, Phil likes it too. Here are a few pics of it, pre Easter dinner. The camera got put away once dinner was served and I forgot to take it back out. But I think that’s a good sign – it’s always better to be too caught up in the moment than to be catching it on camera.

Image

Getting ready for the whole family

Image

Easter place settings

Close-up of the place settings

Close-up of the place settings

photo_7

Of course, all of this celebration is for one reason only, Jesus. I know that I could go on and on about how much Easter means to me, and its importance, and how I contemplate the cross. But when Easter rolls around, I kind of forget about “importance” and “theology” and “significance” and just revel in the tangible joy you can feel. It’s a day to celebrate. I think worshiping on Easter morning is the closest thing I ever get to what it’s going to be like in heaven. Celebrating, laughing with friends, loving life, eating good food…I just think, “Ain’t no party like the church’s Easter party.” So rest assured I will write some long-winded blog on some aspect of Jesus and my walk with him in the future. But for now, I’m just resting in the aftermath of a great party.

The table after everyone left. My sister brought a wreath that made it up on the wall for dinner.

The table after everyone left. My sister brought a wreath that made it up on the wall for dinner.

Resting after a great party

Resting after a great party

Leave a Reply

