Fall comes too late in Georgia

Or maybe school starts too early…either way, it’s September 5th, my son has already been in preschool for three weeks, and it is 85 degrees outside. Everything that starting school ushers in – crisp air, turning leaves, cozy fires, pumpkin spice lattes – is still months away out here. It is one of the ways in which Seattle has Atlanta beat. In Seattle, the beginning of preschool meant buying new jeans for Jacob (not new shorts). It meant going to my friend Hillary’s house and having cups of coffee while we sat on the couch and talked (not iced lattes). It meant Phil buying eight thousand fall flavored candles at Walmart (“I just really like them”). In Atlanta, I’m still drinking ice water at 9 am and reapplying deoderant three times a day. But fall will come. And I really do want to enjoy the heat while I have it. I can’t complain about drinking ice tea and watching the little boys (my youngest son and my nephew) play in the baby pool. So to scratch this fall itch I have, here are some beautiful things that I would love to find in my house when the cool weather hits.

~ Book page decor. I think book pages bring a perfect, cozy neutral into the room with some character and a story (pun intended). To of my favorites are a bookpage wreath and bookpage decopage. I also have a great idea brewing for a bookpage chandelier, which I will post on if it turns out as cute as it is in my head.

Book Page Wreath

Book Page Wreath via Jones Design Company

Book Page Decoupage Pumpkin

Book Page Decoupage Pumpkin

Book Page Decoupage Fruit

Book Page Decoupage Fruit

~ Felt/wool. A pillow, or a few flowers in these fabrics are so autumnal to me. I’ll definitely make some flowers to pin on my pillows or maybe make bunch for a wreath.

Felt ampersand pillow via Pinterest

Felt ampersand pillow via Pinterest

Felt flowers

Felt flowers

~Plum. Although purple is not a color you will find a lot in my house, I am becoming increasingly enamored with plum. I especially love the way it looks next to gold and brown and orange and other fall colors. Last year I bought Oatmeal Raisin soap from Bath and Body works because of the amazing color of the bottle. Unfortunately, it was not a good smell for washing your hands (way too sweet). Here are some other beautiful ways of bringing in plum besides yucky soap.

Artichokes in a bowl

Artichokes in a bowl

via design seeds

via design seeds

32211899193d8497f56e82a2686d27a2

~ Rust orange pillows. I found this ad for wallpaper a long time ago and have held onto it, crinkled up in a drawer, because I love the pillows so much.  Phil bought me some amazing orange silk from Cambodia last summer and I think I can mimic these. I especially like the raw edges on the pillows.

photophoto_1

33-cheery-orange-wedding-ideas-11-500x682

More orange pillows

~Foliage. I love flowers in the spring, but as fall hits, it’s nice just to be able to throw leaves in a vase and call it a day. The greens, browns, oranges and yellows warm up a room. Plus it’s free and ever changing.

via Good Housekeeping

via Good Housekeeping

via Better Homes & Garden

via Better Homes & Garden

via Pottery Barn

via Pottery Barn

via Pottery Barn

via Pottery Barn

So here’s to all of my dear friends in Seattle whose children started school this week.  Drink a pumpkin spice latte and walk around crunching leaves for me. I miss you.

Leave a Reply

