A year of dreams

Image

I never make New Year’s Resolutions. I guess I think if something is important enough for me to change, it won’t matter what day of the year it is. But there is no doubt that as another year passes into “last year,” I am a year older, hopefully a year wiser, a year further into being a mother, and a year closer Jesus.  And that is enough of a reason for reflection.

My reflection today came while I was mindlessly cleaning my room. Yes, it dates me, but it was one of those days where I felt like God was speaking through my “favorites” playlist on iTunes. First, the words of Jimmy Eat World:

 “Oh babe, I know it’s alive, and somewhere for us to find tonight. Chase this light with me.”

Then Guster – “If that’s all you will be, you’ll be a waste of time. You’ve dreamed a thousand dreams, none seem to stick in your mind.”

Oh sweet Switchfoot – “Dare you to move.”

We all have dreams, don’t we? We all hear words to songs and get inspired to do something, change something, fulfill something. As I reflected on these lyrics, a conversation I had with my son came to mind about the book “The Three Trees.” I of course was crying (if you don’t cry while reading that book you are just a monster), and my sweet son literally wiped the tears off my face and asked why I was crying. I looked at Jacob and said, “I’m crying because it’s sad but it’s also happy. These three trees had dreams that didn’t come true. The first one was not a treasure box, the second one wasn’t a mighty sailing ship, and the third one didn’t grow to be the tallest tree in the world, did it?”

“No.”

“But who made all of their dreams come true?”

“Jesus.”

“That’s why I’m crying, babe. God takes all of our dreams and through Jesus, makes them come true in a beautiful way. Our dreams can come true because Jesus came.”

If we all have dreams, then we all also have broken dreams. Fractured relationships. Failures in our character. Wounds from our childhood. Anger and confusion in our thoughts toward God. Disappointments and heartaches and sadness about how life had turned out. But God…God redeems and restores and reconciles. He can fulfill even our broken dreams.

I love my life. But I can’t deny that there are passions and dreams that I have dismissed. This year, I feel like the Lord is prompting me to dream again and that he is going to make some of those dreams come to pass in 2014. And I also feel like it is a greater word than just for me. I feel like it is a word for many.

This new year, dream again. Dream the dreams you thought were dead. Dream the dreams you don’t think are possible.

Maybe for you, that’s asking God what dreams you have forgotten.

Maybe it’s believing that God actually talks to you when you ask him things.

Maybe it’s taking that college course.

Opening up that new business.

Filling out the adoption paperwork.

Picking up the phone and calling your friend.

Recording your album.

Writing your book.

Moving to that city and planting that church.

Forgiving your father.

The beautiful truth is that our dreams are not in the way of God’s plans. They are the way of God’s plans. He has given us our hopes and desires on purpose – He wants to use them for his Kingdom.  He is so kind that he created us in such a way that as we follow him, as we pursue His Kingdom, as we yield our plans to Him, He gives us back our dreams in ways we never imagine.

And that’s better than being the tallest tree in the world.

Leave a Reply

